Reschedule Tool Updates and Sub Term Override Grades (Release 8/16/2018)

Learn more about the My School Year Homeschool Record Keeping release that occurred on August 16, 2018.

 

Reschedule Tool Update #1: Re-Order lessons based on date, not sequence

What is it? When rescheduling, lessons are rescheduled based on the sequence in which they appear in the Lesson Plan list. Typically, sequence order and date order match.  However, the sequence order and date order do not always coincide.  Thus, this feature lets Lessons Plans be re-sorted so that they are re-sequenced into DATE order, and not the default SEQUENCE order.

How it works. Two methods can be used to re-sequence by date.

Method 1: Lesson Plan Tools

We added a Tools feature/button on the Lesson Plan screen.

  • Go to the Add/Edit Lesson Plans on the Classes view
  • Select the Tools button
  • Select the Sort tool option
  • Select the Sort By Date button.
Lesson Plan Tools - Sort By Date
Lesson Plan Tools – Sort By Date

 

Method 2: Reschedule Tool

A new option called Ordering is now available per class. Two options are available: Sequence # and Date. By selecting Sequence #, lessons will be kept in the same sequence regardless of lesson date. By selecting Date, lessons will be re-sequenced in ascending date order.

Reschedule Tools - Ordering
Reschedule Tools – Ordering

 

What is this for? Numerous reasons exist for a need to re-sort based on date and not sequence. Here are some examples:

Example 1: You manually rearranged the sequence of lessons and now need to reset the lessons back to date order.

Example 2: You manually created non-dated lessons and then applied a date at a later time. Those lessons may be out of “date order” with respect to other lessons. This feature will re-sequence those lessons back into the correct date order.

NOTE: This feature will re-sequence both COMPLETED and INCOMPLETE lessons.

 

Reschedule Tool Update #2: Split Same-Date Lessons

Reschedule Tools - Split Same Day Lessons
Reschedule Tools – Split Same Day Lessons

What is it? If lessons occur on the same date, this setting will split the lesson onto different days.

How it works. When using the Reschedule Tool, set the Split Same Day Lessons to be YES.

What is this for? Due to re-arranging lessons (whether manual, rescheduling, creating new lessons, etc.), this option can ensure that only 1 lesson occur on a single school day. Please note that if the Force End Date option is used, then lessons may still occur on the same day, however, lessons will be evenly distributed across the reschedule date range.

NOTE: In one sense, this option “resets” all the lesson dates as it will “ignore” the current date and assign a new one.

 

Report Card: Sub Term Override Grades

Class Details - Override Sub Term Grades
Class Details – Override Sub Term Grades

What is it? The Class now has override grade settings available for all sub-terms.

How it works. Follow these steps in order to manually set/override sub-term grades for a given class. Please note: this assumes your term is set to have sub-terms.

  1. Go to Edit Class Details
  2. Expand the View Grading Settings
  3. Select the appropriate Override Grade for the appropriate sub-term.
  4. Select save.
  5. Generate a Report Card, and those override grades now appear.

What is this for? A variety reasons exist for this feature. One such reason is taking an external course that provides sub-term grades. This feature now allows you to track those sub-term grades as they are provided. Another reason is to provide flexibility in grade management.

 

System Adjustments

In every software system in the world, the need to make tweaks will always exist. Since some of you may have encountered these “un-documented features” (e.g. bugs), here is a list of items corrected.

  • The Lessons Plan screen now displays a counter of how many lessons are displaying and the total number of lessons that exist.
  • When generating lessons via the Create-A-Plan tool, the generate button does not disable when first clicked, allowing users to accidentally create multiple copies of their lessons. This update should now prevent that from happening.

 

Leave a Reply